Back to:   Index of Composers
Hendrich, Paweł

Born in 1979 in Wrocław. In 1998, he started studying composition with Jerzy Filc. He graduated from the Engineering and Economics Department of the University of Economics in Wrocław. He is also a graduate of the Music Academy in Wrocław in the composition class of Grażyna Pstrokońska-Nawratil. In 2005/6, he studied at the Hochschule für Musik in Cologne in the class of York Höller. In 2004–8 he held a scholarship from the Polish Ministry of Culture, in 2006–8 from the City of Wrocław, and in 2009 from the Lower Silesia Voivodeship. In 2007 the European Krzysztof Penderecki Centre for Music included him in its fouryear promotion programme. In 2010 he was granted membership in the Academy of Young Scholars and Artists. Since 2008 he has worked at the Karol Lipiński Music Academy in Wrocław as a junior lecturer, obtaining a PhD in musical art in 2012.

His numerous accolades include the 3rd Prize at the Franz Josef Reinl Foundation competition in Vienna (2005, for Anepigraph). In 2009 his Metasolidus I was among the seven works nominated for the Opus Public Media Award.

Paweł Hendrich’s works have been performed at leading festivals including Warsaw Autumn, Musica Polonica Nova and Musica Electronica Nova in Wrocław, Premieres Festival in Katowice, Audio Art in Warsaw and Cracow, Musica Viva in Munich, Rudens Kamermūzikas Festivāls in Riga, Suså Festival in Næstved (Denmark), Rudersdal Sommerkoncerter in Hørsholm (Denmark), World Music Days in Wrocław, University of Louisville New Music Festival, Composers Portraits cycle in Warsaw, and during concerts in Germany, Austria, Sweden, Spain, Czech Republic, Turkey, United States, Hungary, Malta, Latvia, Estonia, and Slovakia. Performers of his music have included the Wrocław Philharmonic, New Music Orchestra (OMN), Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra (directed by Szymon Bywalec), Ensemble Modern (directed by Peter Eötvös, Anu Tali, and Clemens Heil), Musikfabrik (directed by Diego Masson), PluralEnsemble (directed by Fabián Panisello), KammarensembleN (directed by Staffan Larson), Illinois Modern Ensemble (directed by Stephen A. Taylor), Leopoldinum Wrocław Chamber Orchestra (directed by Ernst Kovacic), Tech-no Orchestra, Sound Factory Orchestra (directed by Robert Kurdybacha), Cellonet (directed by Andrzej Bauer), Kwartludium, an_ARCHE New Music Ensemble, Melos Ethos Ensemble (directed by Zsolt Nagy), Kwadrofonik, as well as soloists including Elżbieta Woleńska, Mikołaj Pałosz, Rafał Łuc, Adam Bałdych, Agnieszka Gajgier-Otręba, and Stanisław Lasoń.

He has received commissions from institutions such as Warsaw Autumn, Deutschlandfunk, Ensemble Modern, the City of Wrocław, Polish Institute in Madrid, Institute of Music and Dance, New Music Orchestra (OMN), National Music Forum, ZAiKS Authors’ Association, and the Polish Ministry of Culture and National Heritage within the “60 commissions for the 60th anniversary of the Polish Composers’ Union” project.

For several years, Paweł Hendrich has been programming in the Max/MSP environment, and performing electroacoustic music. Together with Cezary Duchnowski and Sławomir Kupczak, he has founded the Phonos ek Mechanes trio, performing live electroacoustic music. With leading jazz violinist, Adam Bałdych, he has created the Avatar project.

In 2010, DUX have published a monographic CD with Hendrich’s chamber compositions, while Phonos ek Mechanes debut CD titled C+ was published in 2012 by Bôłt Records.


Major works: Gnothi seauton for chamber orchestra (2001), Let your Spirit descend! for reciting voice, tenor, baritone, bass and two women’s choirs (2002), Heterochronia for large symphony orchestra (2002–4), Anepigraph for small orchestra (2005), Diversicorium for chamber ensemble (2005), Phonarium I, sound installation (2005), Phonarium II, sound installation (2006), Multivalentis for clarinet, trombone, cello and piano (2006), Metasolidus for symphony orchestra (2005–7), Cyclostratus for violin, bass clarinet, percussion, piano and beatbox (2008), Hyloflex for string orchestra (2007–9; version for computer, 2009), Liolit for chamber orchestra (2009–10), Diaphanoid for chamber ensemble (2010), Emergon αß for chamber orchestra (2011), Metasolidus II for large symphony orchestra (2011–12), Cryptoscript for computer (2012), Sedimetron for chamber ensemble (2012), Kioloik for one or two flutes (2012), Drovorb for clarinet, horn, piano, violin, viola and cello (2013), Ertytre for one or eight cellos (2013–14), Alopopulo for chamber orchestra, violin and computers (2014), Accant for accordion and computer (2014), Exophor for Chinese instrumental ensemble (2015), Xenobrach for two percussions and two pianos (2015), Pteropetros for accordion, string quartet and wind quintet (2015).