Mykietyn, Paweł

Born in 1971 in Oława, composer. He graduated from the class of Włodzimierz Kotoński at the Fryderyk Chopin Music Academy in Warsaw in 1997. He participated in the ISCM Polish Section’s International Summer Courses for composers (1991, 1992, 1993) and the Gaudeamus Music Week in Amsterdam (1992), and attended lectures and workshops with composers such as Witold Lutosławski, Krzysztof Penderecki, Henryk Mikołaj Górecki, Magnus Lindberg, Louis Andriessen, François-Bernard Mâche, and Michael Nyman.

He made his Warsaw Autumn debut at the age of 22 with La Strada. In 1995 his Polish Radio commission 3 for 13 was selected at the International Rostrum of Composers in Paris in the young composers category. In 1996 Epiphora, commissioned by the Polish Radio Experimental Studio, was selected at the 4th International Rostrum of Electroacoustic Music in Amsterdam. Paweł Mykietyn has composed for soloists such as Elżbieta Chojnacka, Ewa Pobłocka, and Andrzej Bauer. He has cooperated with leading conductors including Jean-Paul Dessy, Jacek Kaspszyk, Jerzy Maksymiuk, Diego Masson, Wojciech Michniewski, and Reinbert de Leeuw. His has received commissions from Warsaw Autumn, Grand Theatre – National Opera in Warsaw as well as ensembles including Belcea Quartet, de Ereprijs, Icebreaker, and Kronos Quartet.

In 2000 Paweł Mykietyn received the Passport Award of the Polityka weekly. His 3 for 13 was presented at the MIDEM Classique in Cannes. In 2008 he was the first recipient of the OPUS Public Media Award. In 2001 he was decorated with the Cavalier’s Cross of the Order of Polonia Restituta. In 2012 he was awarded the prestigious SACEM Prix France Musique for his music for Jerzy Skolimowski’s Essential Killing.

Paweł Mykietyn was the founder of Nonstrom contemporary music ensemble (active in 1990–2005), in which he played the clarinet. He has composed music for the majority of Krzysztof Warlikowski’s theatrical productions since 1996. Since 2008 he has been music director of the Nowy Theatre in Warsaw. He has authored music for many feature films, garnering awards notably at the Gdynia Film Festival. In 2015 he was awarded the Teatr monthly’s Special Prize for his opera The Magic Mountain and his theatre music.


Selected works: ...Although Daedalus Reached... for clarinet, cello and piano (1990), La Strada for three instruments (1991), 3 for 13 for 13 performers (1994), Concerto for Piano and Orchestra (1996), Epiphora for piano and tape (1996), Shakespeare’s Sonnets for male soprano and piano (2000), An Ignoramus and a Madman, chamber opera to a libretto by Krzysztof Warlikowski after Thomas Bernhard (2001), An Album Leaf for cello and tape (2002, 2009), Klave for microtonally tempered harpsichord and chamber orchestra (2004), Becoming Fine for baritone, microtonally tempered harpsichord and string ensemble to words by Marcin Świetlicki (2005), Prologue for string orchestra (2006), String Quartet no. 2 (2006), Sonata for Cello solo or with live electronics (2006), Symphony no. 2 (2006), St Mark Passion for voices and instruments (2008), Vivo for choir, orchestra and electronics (2010), Berceuse for ten singers (2010), Symphony no. 3 for alto and orchestra (2011), Two Verses by Miłosz for actor, actress, 10 musicians, electronics and video (2011), Klavierstücke for Casio CTK-731 synthesiser (2012), King Lear, musical in two acts (2012), Wax Music for wax cylinders and piano (2012), Concerto for Flute and Orchestra (2013), Bourrée for cello (2014), Hommage à Oskar Dawicki for symphony orchestra (2014), The Magic Mountain, opera to a libretto by Małgorzata Sikorska-Miszczuk after Thomas Mann (2015), String Quartet no. 3 (2016), Double Concerto for two flutes and symphony orchestra (2016).

Film music: Mariusz Treliński’s The Egoists (2000), Małgorzata Szumowska’s Stranger (2004), Małgorzata Szumowska’s Father (2005), Małgorzata Szumowska’s 33 Scenes from Life (2008), Andrzej Wajda’s Sweet Rush (2009), Jan Hryniak’s Trick (2010), Jerzy Skolimowski’s Essential Killing (2010), Filip Marczewski’s Shameless (2011), Małgorzata Szumowska’s In the Name Of (2012), Andrzej Wajda’s Walesa. Man of Hope (2013), Katarzyna Jungowska’s Fanciful (2014), Jerzy Skolimowski’s 11 Minutes (2015).